3 Ingredients = Nutella Brownies

spelthorne-20110430-00938

Yes, that’s right! Perfect Brownies made with just three ingredients and flavoured with yummy nutella! Are you dribbling yet?

When I first came across these on SavorySweetLife I thought it looked too good to be true…but that of course made me want to bake them more! Besides I can eat Nutella with a spoon so the idea of Nutella brownies just made me mega excited!

This is slightly different from the original as you will see, I didn’t use the hazelnuts and I baked them in a standard muffin tin instead of a mini muffin tin.

They came out incredible! Chocolatey, nutty, nutella – ey, fudgey and had the good old shiny, papery crust. AMAZING!!!

Ingredients: Makes 6

  • 1/2 cup Nutella spread (or vegan chocolate hazelnut spread)
  • 1 large egg (or vegan replacer)
  • 5 tablespoons plain/all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts (optional)
Method:
  1. Heat the oven to 350f/170c. Line a 12-cup mini muffin tin or 6 holes of a standard muffin tin with paper cases or just grease the holes as I did.
  2. Whisk together the Nutella and egg in a bowl until combined, smooth and glossy. Add the flour and whisk until blended.
  3. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins (about 3/4 full) and sprinkle with the chopped hazelnuts if using.
  4. Bake until a pick comes out with wet, gooey crumbs, 11 to 12 minutes for the mini muffin sized brownies or 13-14 minutes for the larger.
  5. Serve warm as they are, with cream or ice cream or leave to cool on a wire rack to serve at room temperature.
  6. Alice says you can store them at room temperature for up to 3 days…..but they didn’t last more than 5 minutes in my house!
 
Nutrition based on 6 brownies per recipe including nuts;
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 46 g
Amount Per Serving
Calories

208
Calories from Fat

108
% Daily Value*
Total Fat

12.0g
18%
Saturated Fat

7.6g
38%
Cholesterol

31mg
10%
Sodium

22mg
1%
Total Carbohydrates

21.4g
7%
Dietary Fiber

2.1g
8%
Sugars

13.7g
Protein

4.0g
Vitamin A 1% Vitamin C 1%
Calcium 4% Iron 10%
Nutrition Grade C+
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet
This entry was posted in Cakes, Chocolate, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

115 Responses to 3 Ingredients = Nutella Brownies

  1. Pingback: Baking for Street Children Part II «

  2. Mat says:

    I enjoyed poppys brownies personaly and can say that these where amazing! But so is all of it!

  3. Pingback: Super Easy Nutella Brownie Bites | Latest Recipes

  4. barbedwords says:

    These look amazing!! Definitely the next thing I’m going to make.

  5. Viviana says:

    These look so easy and delicious! Will definitely try them. And thank you Poppy for liking my quick tomato pasta sauce!

  6. Pretty sure my kids would like this… 😛

  7. You had me at Nutella….

  8. Global Girl says:

    Yum! I love nutella in anything so I’m sure these brownies would be delicious. So easy too! Definitely will have to make them.

  9. happyhealthy365 says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog! You have a DELICIOUS ONE!

  10. Vohn says:

    Oh yum Poppy. These sound so easy and yet so completely delicious!

  11. agb14 says:

    These look amazing, I am a nutella addict.

  12. I’ve made these brownies and they are delicious. Who knew four ingredients could be so magical.

  13. Sophie33 says:

    I made them & that were superb! MMMMMM!

  14. Yikes! Bookmarked. I think you’ve just ruined my diet 😉

  15. maria says:

    Hi Poppy, thanks so much for visiting my blog. I will definitely be trying theses brownies – I love a short list of ingredients!

  16. Hey Poppy! These brownies look so good (and easy) that I was planning to make them for a pot luck I’m going to this week. But I just happened to see a Nutella commercial today that mentioned that the spread was made with milk. I looked up Nutella and found that it’s made with whey, so it’s not vegan. I thought you’d want to know. I hope you’re having a fabulous week and maybe even some sunny weather. Celeste :

    • Poppy says:

      Hi Celeste, thank you so much for this. This post was pre-vegan so I kept the original for any readers that bookmarked it then, but updated it with a vegan option. Next to Nutella in the ingredients list you’ll see a link for vegan Nutella type spread which I now use along with egg replacer and it works perfectly. I’m really sorry if that wasn’t clear, I’ll try and make it clearer for vegan readers as I’d hate to give anyone the wrong impression! Do you know if you have access to a vegan choc-hazelnut spread that you could use? Would be great if you could still make them for your potluck as they are so incredibly quick and easy and super yum! If you don’t have access to a spread and you would still like to make them, there is a good homemade vegan nutella you could try here: http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-9710/recipe-vegan-nutella-oh-yes.html and the following one doesn’t need oil which I know you prefer; http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Vegan-Nutella

      Hope that helps and thank you again! Poppy 🙂

      • Thanks for getting back to me about this Poppy! I see the vegan option now – not sure how I missed that. I don’t know if I can get a vegan choc-hazelnut spread, I’ll have to see if Whole Foods has one. Thanks for the link to the homemade vegan nutella, but I’m too lazy to do that (I loved that your recipe was so simple!). If I can’t find a vegan choc-hazelnut spread then I’ll probably make something else for the potluck and just keep looking for a vegan nutella-like spread. And I’m so glad you’ve got a few rays of sun in your neck of the woods. Celeste 🙂

      • Poppy says:

        Oh I hope they have some! We have quite a few options here, you can even find it in regular supermarkets now! Let me know if you manage to find any. Hope things are all good with you and your husband and Mambo and your photography practice 🙂

      • You’re so awesome Poppy! Just thought I’d share that. I’ll let you know if I find a vegan spread. Celeste 🙂

      • Poppy says:

        I think you’re awesome too 🙂 Good luck on the vegan nutella hunt! Poppy 🙂

    • Poppy says:

      P.s a few rays of sunshine today, thanks! We even ate alfresco woohoo! 🙂

      • Hey Poppy! Whole Foods didn’t have a vegan choc-hazelnut spread. Nutella isn’t very popular in the US, so I had the feeling it would be a challenge to find a vegan version. But I’ll keep looking! Celeste 🙂

      • Poppy says:

        Hi Celeste! Oh that’s a shame! Maybe some will turn up or I can send you some in the mail if you’d like! 🙂

      • You’re so sweet to offer to send me some Poppy, but I couldn’t ask you to do that. Besides, I’m pretty sure I can find some online that I can have shipped. Celeste 🙂

      • Poppy says:

        It wouldn’t be a problem and you didn’t ask me to, I offered 🙂 For some reason I assumed Nutella was more popular in the US, but clearly not! I guess it is Italian so it must be more popular in Europe. Hope you enjoy your 4th July celebrations! 🙂

      • Poppy says:

        P.s just found Vegan Essentials sell a few different brands http://store.veganessentials.com/chocolates-c54.aspx .

      • Thanks for the Vegan Essentials link Poppy! I’m going to order a jar of the Choc & Nut. After all this talk about your brownies, I really have to try them! Not only this, but my husband just told me that he loves Nutella. I didn’t even know! He said he used to eat it all the time when he lived in England (he lived there for 7 months – followed a girl there). Thanks for all your help with this!! Celeste 🙂

      • Poppy says:

        I liked the look of the Choc & Nut one too! Wow, that’s funny after all this discussion that he is a Nutella fan! It must be an English thing! Where did you husband live in England? I hope the Choc & Nut spread lives up to his Nutella loving standards 😛
        You’re very welcome. Poppy 🙂

      • My hubby lived in N. London, Crouch End. He says he’s going to take me there one day! Celeste 🙂

      • Poppy says:

        Oh wow, I used to work near there in Totteridge. Small world! 🙂

  17. so delicious and easy!!! love nutella 🙂

  18. ohlidia says:

    Oh my! Do you know of my love affair with Nutella?! Thanks for your visit Poppy, it has led me to your gorgeous blog!

  19. afellowsapient says:

    My son is absolutely in love with nutella. I am going to make these brownies for him for the 4th of July. They look delicious and easy, two things I love most. Your blog is beautiful! Your recipe all look so delightful. I was wondering do you cook for a living or are you a professional chef?

  20. afellowsapient says:

    Sorry, not seem like an airhead but I just read your studying for a degree in animal management. LOL Your blog looks so professional I thought maybe in your spare time you might be a chef.

    • Poppy says:

      I’m not a professional chef, but am very flattered that you wondered that! I just love to cook! Funnily enough, my boyfriend is a chef but he never cooks at home as he does all day at work. I’d hate to lose the will to cook at home, in my own kitchen, for enjoyment, which is what usually happens to professional chefs! 🙂

  21. SkinnyLunches says:

    Can’t wait to get the kids making these, the recipe seems so simple. I’m sure they will really enjoy eating them even moreso!

    • Poppy says:

      Absolutely, this is a very kid-friendly recipe, quick, easy, one bowl and delicious! 🙂

      • SkinnyLunches says:

        I made these today!! Totally gorgeous. Sorry correction, my two kids made these, so easy! I added some banana as I thought the mixture seemed a bit dry. I might just put this up on my own blog next week as an easy recipe for kids and a fun thing to do for the school holidays. What’s the best way to link it back to this blog?…all a bit new to me.

      • Poppy says:

        Ah that’s so cool, I love that your children made them!! That’s my idea of childhood heaven! Banana sounds like a great addition too.
        To link back, when you write a post, the easiest way is to highlight the text you want to link and hold down keys Alt, Shift & A at the same time. A box will open, insert the website you want to link back to (e.g blog post url) in the top box (Enter the destination URL) then click add link on the bottom right and the text will be blue and underlined.

        Alternatively in the toolbar in the post editor, on the top row where Bold and Italic etc buttons are, on the right of the paragraph buttons, there are two buttons, one to add a link (highlight text then press this and type in address) and one to remove a link (10th and 11th buttons from the left).

        Hope that helps!
        Poppy 😀

      • SkinnyLunches says:

        Thanks for all the advice on linking the blog, really appreciate it.

      • Poppy says:

        You’re most welcome!

  22. Viviane says:

    I am a Nutella fan myself, this is certainly an interesting idea to try. Thanks for stopping by Taste-Buds and for the like 🙂

  23. slyrooster says:

    Thanks for visiting my site, Poppy. These Nutella Brownies looks easy and delicious. Can’t wait to make them!

  24. homegirllove says:

    Definitely going to try this…yummy

  25. chocolatepeanutbutterohmy says:

    so easy and looks so yummy x

  26. Hey Poppy! I just wanted to let you know that the Choc & Nut I ordered came in the mail today. Oh my – it’s so delicious! I plan to make your brownies this weekend (I just hope we don’t eat the whole jar before I have the chance to bake). Celeste 🙂

  27. stephstephxo says:

    Nutella and brownies……divine!!! Definitely going to be trying these. Thanks for this simple and yet decadent recipe.
    Keep blogging, love reading your blog!
    Steph 😃💋

  28. Pingback: Molten Lava Brownies | Honk If You're Vegan

  29. Pingback: Molten Lava Brownies! | Honk If You're Vegan

  30. delialah says:

    Can’t believe how simple and good they are!! :O

  31. Nikki Spigner says:

    I am ALL over these. I have this little chocoholic nephew… and I live to make him happy. Thanks AGAIN, Poppy!

  32. misscruciferous says:

    These look amazing.

  33. Prateeksha says:

    Super easy….thanks for sharing this recipe….

  34. Thanks for stopping by my ittybittycitykitchen.com.
    These look amazing! I will definitely be trying soon

  35. fotogfoodie says:

    I have to make these! thanks for sharing!

  36. marathonsandthemunchies says:

    Anything with Nutella in it has my attention! 🙂

  37. Pingback: Nutella Pecan Brownies | fotog foodie

  38. Do you think this would work with a no-grain flour like almond flour? This looks SO good!!!!

    • Poppy says:

      I can’t see why not but I haven’t tried it. I love the idea of using almond flour, I think it’ll make them super moist and yummy! Let me know if you try! 😀

  39. penquin53 says:

    This is so incredibly awesome. Simple easy and it involves Nutella. Thanks for sharing.

  40. sabine1490 says:

    I’ll try these for sure. My kids love Nutella. Me too.

  41. Ummm hello perfection. I will be making these ASAP! 3 ingredients and look amazing, right up my alley!

  42. Poppy, these look awesome! And I love that you added a Vegan alternative for our Vegan friends.
    🙂 Cheers, Rita

    • Poppy says:

      Thank you Rita! I made a vegan version after turning vegan myself, I’m sure your vegan friends would be thrilled to be served the vegan version of these! 😀

  43. vickiem says:

    Thanks for stopping by! The best part of blogging–you found my recipe and now I found yours! ❤
    Thank goodness Sam's Club carries Nutella–I can't keep it in the house, my family eats it so quickly. They're gonna love these! :0)

  44. I am a Nutella addicted. I will be trying these!
    Happy SITS Day!

  45. dishofdailylife says:

    I have a feeling these would be a huge hit in my house! By the way, I tried to follow you on Pinterest with your button, and it didn’t work! 😦

    • Poppy says:

      I hope so! They always go down well with the little ones in my life 😀 (and the big ones too! Sshhhh!….)

      I fixed the Pinterest button, sorry about that, it had an old link attached! 😀

  46. Caitlin says:

    Oh dear, this looks delicious and super easy – a dangerous combination!

  47. Thank you for this simple recipe. Everything in life should be so simple.

  48. thank you for liking my post, I’m so happy to have found your blog, it’s great inspiration for vegan cooking!! I’m afraid if I make these nutella brownies I won’t be sharing… 😉

  49. Anke says:

    Your blog is a wonderful find. Thank you for appreciating mine which enabled me to find yours!

  50. Pingback: Top 10 Posts of 2013 | Poppy's Patisserie | Bunny Kitchen

Leave a comment