Beetroot and Kale Burgers with Balsamic Red Onions

IMG_1849

It’s that time of year when the scent of burning barbecues fills the air. There is something about the smell of burning coals that is so comforting and exciting to the taste buds. Yet, as soon as the stench of burning flesh hits the grill, I lose my appetite. But, that doesn’t mean I have to miss out, I have a small portable bucket barbecue that I can use in my garden to satisfy my summer grilled burger cravings, along with some grilled mushrooms and peppers.

IMG_1857

These burgers are packed full of nutrients, are a fun hot pink colour, taste delicious and vibrant and grill up beautifully on the barbecue, or in a pan on the stove at any time of year. The balsamic onions just take them over the top.

IMG_1850

I’m bringing these burgers to the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck – have you submitted your recipes yet?!

Ingredients: Makes 6 burgers

  • 2 medium cooked beetroot
  • 50g Bulgar wheat, cooked according to package directions
  • 50g red lentils, cooked along with the bulgar
  • 50g houmous
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 4 large leaves of kale, quite finely chopped
  • Sea salt and cracked black pepper, to taste
  • Buns and garnishes of choice to serve

For the onions:

  • 2 red onions, sliced into rings
  • 2tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2tsp fennel seeds

Method:

  1. Start with the onions, saute over a low-medium heat in a teaspoon of oil or a splash of water until soft and lightly coloured. Stir in the fennel seeds and vinegar and keep warm.
  2. Meanwhile, pulse together the burger ingredients until it can clump together, it should still have texture and flecks of kale but be able to be formed into burger shapes. If the mixture seems to wet, add breadcrumbs or ground almonds a tablespoon at a time or if it seems too dry, add water a tablespoon at a time.
  3. Make 6 burgers out of the mixture and grill with a little cooking spray until coloured, just a couple of minutes on each side. Alternatively use a cast iron pan or regular frying pan.
  4. Serve in buns, topped with onions and your favourite garnishes.

IMG_1837

I’m entering this into the #EXTRAVEG FOOD BLOG CHALLENGE – MAY 2015 hosted by Veggie DessertsFuss Free Flavours and  Utterly Scrummy.

Calorie Count :: New Recipe

Nutritional Benefits

Low in saturated fat

No cholesterol

High in dietary fiber

High in manganese

Very high in vitamin A

Very high in vitamin B6

Very high in vitamin C

signature instagram-logo1-300x150 join-me-on-facebook twitter_follow

This entry was posted in vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Beetroot and Kale Burgers with Balsamic Red Onions

  1. These burgers sound incredible! I love the use of fennel seeds in the balsamic onions, yum!!

  2. I love this idea! It looks like a great texture too! That’s important with any burger. It should feel like a burger in your mouth. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. Looks heavenly! 🙂

  4. Looks heavenly! 🙂

  5. These look great! For a minute, they almost looked like real beef haha. I had to double check the recipe! 😉

  6. Oh, I’ve got to make these, Poppy! I’m getting tired of beet juice :-). Time to get some beet burgers going!

  7. thespicedeli says:

    Wow this looks amazing! Can’t wait to try the recipe 🙂

  8. coconutcraze says:

    Very eye catching burger with healthy layers of vegetables. I love the balsamic glazed onion…looks sexy! Btw, I too posted a beetroot recipe this week…what a coincidence!

  9. Kayse says:

    Poppy, these look delicious! I love the addition of the balsamic red onions! Yummmmm

  10. Sophie33 says:

    I just made them, your tasty beauties & nearly always serve balsamic red onion rings on my burgers,…do delectable too! 🙂 MMMMM! xxx

  11. eleanorross says:

    These are being made as soon as London’s skies turn sunny again! Look amazing!

  12. I might just have to try these, I find myself craving balsamic all the time lately!

  13. Pingback: Virtual Vegan LINKY Potluck 5 « anunrefinedvegan

  14. This looks deeeeelicious! Thanks for linking up to #ExtraVeg!

  15. Pingback: Balsamic Roasted mushrooms | Bunny Kitchen

Leave a comment